Parallels in Other Systems of Thought

There are a number of ideas in The Revelation of God in a Human Being that have parallels in other forms of spirituality, theology, and philosophy. I have noted some of the key terms and listed the books that explain them more fully for readers who might wish to explore these ideas further.

Level One: The Awake Mind

What is described as the awake mind of the first level of consciousness corresponds to the following philosophical and theological ideas:

  • Hinduism: the awake mind interprets sensory input from the gross body (Aurobindo, 1973). Sometimes it is called the sense mind. This level also corresponds to the Root Chakra—Muladhara. The bodily connection is through the reproductive glands. Also sometimes called savitarka-samadhi (Patanjali, 2009). This should not be confused with Jagrata, which is a Hindu term that means attentive wakefulness, vigilance, of the kind that attends to ritual or spiritual devotion. This would be one form of focused attention at the level of the awake mind at this level of consciousness.
  • Sufism/Islamic mysticism: the awake mind functions in the corporeal observable universe Mulk. The instinct manifests in behavior at the sensory, material level and finds expression in the awake mind and physical body.

Level Two: Active Memory - Level Five: Human Unconscious

The regions of consciousness in Levels Two through Five, including the terms intellect, intuition, will, and imagination, correspond to two realms of consciousness in Hindu systems: dreaming and deep sleep. Within the Hindu system these regions of consciousness also correspond to the subtle body and the causal body. The reference here will lead the reader to an explanation of these bodies.

  • Nivitarka-samadhi – unconditional reality, non-dependent reality, (Hinduism) corresponds to awareness at the Fourth, Fifth, and Sixth levels. If the lower intellect (that functions primarily in a material context) or ego enters into awareness of these realms they quickly attach symbols or images to the unconditioned energy and awareness declines rapidly. This is an unstable region of consciousness in the sense that the energy is highly refined and less than elevated awareness quickly falls into conditioned reality.
  • In Sufism these regions of consciousness correspond to the Malakut, which is a spiritual and intellectual realm where all spiritual faculties exist in conjunction with the soul.

Level Six: The Collective Unconscious

The collective unconscious/Christ consciousness corresponds to the Hindu term Savicara. In Islamic mysticism the interface between the highest level of consciousness, God consciousness, and the lower levels is the realm of intelligible light, the very first region of manifestation, is the Jabarut.

Level Seven: God Consciousness

Level seven, God consciousness, correspondence in other religious/spiritual systems:

  • Hinduism: Turiya, which, according to the common definition, is not a state of being or consciousness, but rather is unperceived, unrelated, incomprehensible, unthinkable, uninferable, and indescribable. Indescribable because the human mind is not capable of understanding this transcendent existence that is the background or foundation of everything. Other systems describe this as Nirvicara, pure omnipresent awareness and consciousness, non-dual reality.
  • Sufism/Islamic Mysticism: wahdat alwujud a region called “unity of existence.” Like the Hindu Turiya this is a realm of no external existence or manifestation.

Centers of Consciousness: Chakras

The chakras correspond, but only loosely, to the levels of consciousness and the human body in the following manner:

  • Awake Mind: Muludhara, root chakra, the reproductive glands, the gonads
  • Active Memory: Swadhisthana, sacral chakra, reproductive glands, the ovaries
  • Personal Unconscious: Manipura, solar plexus, pancreas, adrenal glands
  • Cultural Unconscious: Anahata, heart, thymus gland
  • Human Unconscious: Vishuddhi, thyroid gland
  • Collective Unconscious: Ajna, pituitary gland
  • God Consciousness: Sahasrara, pineal gland and hypothalamus.

The bodily connection, when the being accesses God consciousness, activates at the collective and Christ consciousness levels, that is in the Ajna and Sahasrara.

There is a mutual synergistic relationship between the chakras and the different levels of consciousness. As one grows in consciousness there is a corresponding activation of the chakras. This does not mean that the chakras are dormant, or that other levels of consciousness do not exist when, or if we are confined to realms of ignorance. All levels of the human being are normally active and functioning, but the functioning and capacity of the being is limited until awareness and understanding grow. This usually precedes the increased functioning of the chakras. However, higher forms of consciousness can penetrate or break into the awake mind (usually in the form of dreams or visions). Traumatic physical events like illness or injury can also activate the chakras. If the being functions at a higher capacity due to trauma, and if the corresponding consciousness is not achieved, erratic behavior occurs, or the bodily systems could shut down.